Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Shooting from a Distance 11 years 4 months ago #64351

• sgtMartin
  • sgtMartin's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 2
I am not that good at this game but am addicted to it. I seem to get shot down from a distance most of the time. When I try the tactic, I never even hit a wing. How do I need to aim to accomplish shooting from a distance when all one can see is the name?

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Shooting from a Distance 11 years 4 months ago #64355

• Manfred
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Just Manfred
  • Thank you received: 3866
It takes:
(1) an unwavering eye. You are looking for the dead center of the aiming circle, with accommodations for leading if the target is moving up/down/left/right at all.
(2) fine and controlled roll and pitch control to keep the target where you want it.
(3) a smooth trigger thumb that doesn't disturb the sight picture at all.

Some days I can do it well. Then there are others. It's such a fine maneuver that you have to be in the zone. Oh, and:
(4) All of the above, held finely, while the target is sending a stream of bullets at you.

I've gotten better in recent weeks, but there are many pilots who can impale me with their first two long range bullets and it's all over.

Manfred
The following user(s) said Thank You: [NLR]Jacob10000, ParrotHead

Shooting from a Distance 11 years 4 months ago #64382

• bobbysox
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
  • Thank you received: 109
deflection shooting takes time to learn. basically if you shoot at the plane "where it is" at that moment in time your bullets will arrive at that place AFTER the aircraft has vacated it. SO you must anticipate what place it will be when your projectiles arrive and give the plane some "lead" so your bullets will be arrive at the same place the ea does. here are a couple things you should know and practice.......