• Page:

TOPIC:

A Code of Conduct and Rules of Engagement 11 years 9 months ago #26635

• Galahad
  • Galahad's Avatar Topic Author
  • In periculo nos fugere
  • Thank you received: 8
Hello Fellow WWI Aces,

Greetings to all and thank you for flying in this great game. I salute all whom I've flown with and against.

My handle is "Galahad." I am an American pilot who has lived in Japan, England, Canada, and spent significant amounts of time traveling in many other countries. I've enjoyed learning how to play Dogfight but am still learning the ins and outs of the game.

For those of you who know history, "Galahad" was the illegitimate son of Sir Lancelot and Elaine in the Arthurian legends. He was renowned for his gallantry and purity and was never defeated in battle. He was one of the only knights in King Arthur's court to find the Holy Grail. Why did I choose this name? I chose this handle because as a student of history, I learned that the pilots who flew in World War I were in many cases gentlemen who followed a strict code of conduct and rules of engagement. Many of the pilots who flew against each other over the skies over Europe actually knew each other as acquaintances before the war because many Englishmen and Germans were related or went to some elite schools before the war. There are even some pilots rumored to try to shoot down an enemy plane without killing the pilot because they enjoyed the competition so much that they wanted to continue the game!

Call me "Old School" but when I play this game, I aspire to follow this same spirit and the same code of conduct and gentlemanly behavior I've read about. Therefore, I will:

• shoot planes that are in the air
  • Never shoot a plane on a runway
  • Never shoot a plane that is on a carrier deck
  • If I'm in a tank I will not sit on an enemy runway and pick off planes that are taking off (this is cowardice in my book)